PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Ngā meneti o te wāhanga tūmatanui o te hui o Rangitāne o Manawatū, i tū ki te Taiwhanga Kaunihera, i te papa tuatahi o Te Whare Whakahaere o te Kaunihera, Te Marae o Hine, Papaioea, i te 26 o Paenga-whāwhā 2023, tīmata ake i te waru meneti mai i te tahi i te ahiahi.

Minutes of the Rangitāne o Manawatū Meeting Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North, on 26 April 2023, commencing at 1.08pm.

- MembersGrant Smith (The Mayor) (in the Chair) and Councillors VaughanPresent:Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen
Naylor, Kaydee Zabelin and Ms Danielle Harris.
- Apologies: Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Mr Chris Whaiapu and Councillor Debi Marshall-Lobb (early departure).

Karakia Timatanga

Councillor Fitzgerald opened the meeting with karakia.

Declaration of Office

Danielle Harris read the oath of office.

Acknowledgement of Service

The Mayor thanked Peter Te Rangi and Ruma Karaitiana for their time as Rangitāne representatives on the Environmental Sustainability and Economic Development Committees (respectively) during the council term 2019-2022.

1-23 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Karen Naylor.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive apologies from Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Mr Chris Whaiapu and Councillor Debi Marshall-Lobb (early



RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ COMMITTEE - PART I - 26 APRIL 2023

departure).

Clause 1-23 above was carried 10 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Kaydee Zabelin and Ms Danielle Harris.

2-23 Te Motu o Poutoa Design Working Party - Progress Report

Report, presented by Kathy Dever-Tod, Group Manager Parks and Logistics.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Danielle Harris.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

 That the Committee receive the report titled 'Te Motu o Poutoa Working Party – Progress Report' presented to the Rangitane o Manawatū Committee on 26 April 2023.

Clause 2-23 above was carried 8 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Kaydee Zabelin and Ms Danielle Harris.

3-23 Te Whiri Kōkō - Council Engagement with Rangitāne o Manawatū

Memorandum, presented by Todd Taiepa - Poutoko Aporei Principal Māori Advisor.

There was the following error in the report:

4.6 refers to an 'Iwi Representative Plan' it should read 'Environmental Management Plan'.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the report titled 'Te Whiri Kōkō - Council Engagement with Rangitāne o Manawatū' presented to the Rangitāne o Manawatū Committee on 26 April 2023.

Clause 3-23 above was carried 8 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Kaydee Zabelin and Ms Danielle Harris.



RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ COMMITTEE - PART I - 26 APRIL 2023

4-23 Work Schedule for April 2023

Progress reports on the following projects to be added to the work schedule:

Rangitāne o Manawatū's Environmental Management plan Manawatu River framework Te Āpiti Master plan

Update reports on Te Whiri Kōkō and Te Motu o Poutoa to be standard items on future Committee agendas.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Billy Meehan.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive its Work Schedule dated April 2023.

Clause 4-23 above was carried 8 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Kaydee Zabelin and Ms Danielle Harris.

Karakia Whakamutunga

Councillor Fitzgerald closed the meeting with karakia.

The meeting finished at 2.09pm

Confirmed 23 August 2023

Chairperson