PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 20 February 2017, commencing at 9.02am

Members The Mayor (Grant Smith) (in the Chair) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan

Present: Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM,

Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and

Aleisha Rutherford.

Apologies: Councillor Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Councillor Duncan McCann and Councillor

Tangi Utikere (for lateness).

1-17 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the apologies.

Meeting adjourned at 9.02am Meeting resumed at 5.02pm

Note: When the meeting resumed at 5.02pm Councillor Tangi Utikere was present. The following Elected

Members were not present: The Mayor (Grant Smith), Councillor Leonie Hapeta and Councillor Bruno

Petrenas.

EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC

2-17 Recommendation to Exclude Public

Moved Tangi Utikere, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

RESOLVED

"That the public be excluded from the following parts of the proceedings of this meeting listed in the table below.

The general subject of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter, and the specific grounds under Section 48(1) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 for the passing of this resolution are as follows:



General subject of each matter to be considered		Reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter	Ground(s) under Section 48(1) for passing this resolution
4.	Palmerston North Skate Park Upgrade	Negotiations	s7(2)(i)
5.	Draft Heads of Agreement	Trade Secret and Negotiations	s7(2)(b)(i) and s7(2)(i)

This resolution is made in reliance on Section 48(1)(a) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and the particular interest or interests protected by Section 6 or Section 7 of that Act which would be prejudiced by the holding of the whole or the relevant part of the proceedings of the meeting in public as stated in the above table.

Also that the persons listed below be permitted to remain after the public has been excluded for the reasons stated.

Chief Executive (Paddy Clifford), Chief Financial Officer (Grant Elliott), General Manager, City Enterprises (Ray McIndoe), General Manager, City Future (Sheryl Bryant), General Manager, City Networks (Ray Swadel), General Manager, Customer Services (Peter Eathorne), General Manager, Libraries and Community Services (Debbie Duncan), Human Resources Manager (Wayne Wilson) and Strategic Communications Manager (Mark Torley) because of their knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with advice on matters both from an organisation-wide context (being members of the Council's Management Team) and also from their specific role within the Council.

Legal Counsel (John Annabell), because of his knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with legal and procedural advice.

Governance and Support Team Leader (Kyle Whitfield) and Committee Administrators (Penny Odell and Rachel Corser), because of their knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with procedural advice and record the proceedings of the meeting.

Leisure Assets Planner (Jason Pilkington) because of their knowledge and ability to assist the meeting in speaking to their report and answering questions, noting that such officer will be present at the meeting only for the item that relate to their respective report.

Clause 2.17 above was carried 11 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

The public part of the meeting finished at 5.03pm

Confirmed 27 February 2017

Mayor