PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 12 June 2017, commencing at 9.04am

Members The Mayor Grant Smith (in the Chair) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan

Present: Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison,

Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan

McCann, Karen Naylor and Bruno Petrenas.

Apologies: Councillor Tangi Utikere.

86-17 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the apologies.

87-17 Notification of Late Item

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

RESOLVED

- 1. That subject to Section 46A(7) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and in accordance with the advice by the Chairperson the following item be considered as an urgent item:
 - (i) Document, titled "Vision, Principles and Goals".

As the item was not available at the time the Agenda was circulated; and consideration of the item was a matter of urgency, requiring a decision without delay to enable the Council to manage relationships, meet deadlines, finalise decisions and receive information within agreed timeframes.

REPORTS

88-17 Endorsement of Council's Vision, Principles and Goals for the Development of the 10 Year Plan

Memorandum, dated 24 May 2017 from the Head of Community Planning, Andrew Boyle.



EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL - PART I

12 JUNE 2017

Moved Vaughan Dennison, seconded Leonie Hapeta.

RESOLVED

- 1. That the Council endorse the attached draft Vision, Principles and Goals for the development of the 2018 10 Year Plan.
- 2. That the Council note that the draft Vision, Principles and Goals will be consulted on through the 10 Year Plan in March 2018. They will be amended if necessary and then adopted in June 2018.

Note:

On a motion "That the vision be amended to delete the word "ambition" and replace with "opportunities" the motion was lost. The voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, and Bruno Petrenas.

Against

Councillors Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Lew Findlay QSM and Karen Naylor.

The meeting finished at 9.18am

Confirmed 26 June 2017

Mayor