PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 04 September 2017, commencing at 9.02am

Members The Mayor (Grant Smith) (in the Chair) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan

Present: Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Lew Findlay QSM,

Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor,

Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

Apologies: Councillors Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay (early departure) and Tangi

Utikere (early departure).

106-17 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Tangi Utikere.

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the apologies.

Clause 106-17 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting adjourned at 9.03pm
The meeting resumed again at 3.10pm

EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC

107-17 Recommendation to Exclude Public

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

RESOLVED

"That the public be excluded from the following parts of the proceedings of this meeting listed in the table below.

The general subject of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter, and the specific grounds under Section 48(1) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 for the passing of this resolution are as follows:





04 SEPTEMBER 2017

General subject of each matter to be considered

Reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter

Reason for passing this resolution

48(1) for passing this resolution

78(2)(i)

This resolution is made in reliance on Section 48(1)(a) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and the particular interest or interests protected by Section 6 or Section 7 of that Act which would be prejudiced by the holding of the whole or the relevant part of the proceedings of the meeting in public as stated in the above table.

Also that the persons listed below be permitted to remain after the public has been excluded for the reasons stated.

Acting Chief Executive (David Wright), Chief Financial Officer (Grant Elliott), General Manager, City Enterprises (Ray McIndoe), General Manager, City Future (Sheryl Bryant), Acting General Manager, City Networks (Rob Green), General Manager, Customer Services (Peter Eathorne), General Manager, Libraries and Community Services (Debbie Duncan), Human Resources Manager (Wayne Wilson) and Senior Communications Advisor (Sandra Crosbie) because of their knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with advice on matters both from an organisation-wide context (being members of the Council's Management Team) and also from their specific role within the Council.

Legal Counsel (John Annabell), because of his knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with legal and procedural advice.

Governance and Support Team Leader (Kyle Whitfield) and Committee Administrators (Penny Odell, Carly Chang and Rachel Corser), because of their knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with procedural advice and record the proceedings of the meeting.

Clause 107-17 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

The public part of the meeting finished at 3.11pm

Confirmed 25 September 2017

Deputy Mayor