PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 09 October 2017, commencing at 9.00am

MembersThe Mayor (Grant Smith) (in the Chair) and Councillors Brent Barrett, SusanPresent:Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna
Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

Apologies: Councillors Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Jim Jefferies and Duncan McCann.

Councillor Vaughan Dennison entered the meeting at 10.49am when the meeting resumed. He was not present for clause 152.

152-17 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Tangi Utikere.

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the apologies.

Clause 152-17 above was carried 12 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting adjourned at 9.03am The meeting resumed at 10.49am

When the meeting resumed Councillor Vaughan Dennison was present.

EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC

153-17 Recommendation to Exclude Public

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Lew Findlay QSM.

RESOLVED

"That the public be excluded from the following parts of the proceedings of this meeting listed in the table below.

The general subject of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter, and the specific grounds under Section 48(1) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 for the passing of this resolution are as follows:



General subject of each matter to be considered		Reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter	Ground(s) under Section 48(1) for passing this resolution
4.	Request for Further Funding	Negotiations	s7(2)(i)

This resolution is made in reliance on Section 48(1)(a) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and the particular interest or interests protected by Section 6 or Section 7 of that Act which would be prejudiced by the holding of the whole or the relevant part of the proceedings of the meeting in public as stated in the above table.

Also that the persons listed below be permitted to remain after the public has been excluded for the reasons stated.

Chief Executive (Heather Shotter), Chief Financial Officer (Grant Elliott), General Manager, City Enterprises (Ray McIndoe), General Manager, City Future (Sheryl Bryant), Acting General Manager, City Networks (Robert van Bentum), General Manager, Customer Services (Peter Eathorne), General Manager, Libraries and Community Services (Debbie Duncan), Human Resources Manager (Wayne Wilson) and Senior Communications Advisor (Sandra Crosbie) because of their knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with advice on matters both from an organisation-wide context (being members of the Council's Management Team) and also from their specific role within the Council.

Legal Counsel (John Annabell), because of his knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with legal and procedural advice.

Governance and Support Team Leader (Kyle Whitfield) and Committee Administrators (Penny Odell, Carly Chang and Rachel Corser), because of their knowledge and ability to provide the meeting with procedural advice and record the proceedings of the meeting.

Clause 153-17 above was carried 13 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

The public part of the meeting finished at 10.51am

Confirmed 24 October 2017