# PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Economic Development Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 12 March 2018, commencing at 9.02am

MembersCouncillor Adrian Broad (in the Chair), The Mayor (Grant Smith) and<br/>Councillors Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Lew Findlay<br/>QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Duncan McCann, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.NonCouncillors Susan Baty, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor and Bruno

NonCouncillors Susan Baty, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor and BrunoMembers:Petrenas.

**Apologies:** The Mayor (Grant Smith) (for early departure).

Councillor Vaughan Dennison entered the meeting at 9.05am during consideration of clause 7. He left the meeting at 9.46am during consideration of clause 9. He entered the meeting again at 10.12am during consideration of clause 10. He was not present for clauses 6 and 9.

## 6-18 Apologies

Moved Adrian Broad, seconded Lorna Johnson.

## The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 6-18 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

### 7-18 Presentation - Marist Football and Freyberg High School

Presentation from Jason Flynn, Chairperson of Marist Football and Peter Thompson, Business Manager of Freyberg High School.

Councillor Vaughan Dennison entered the meeting at 9.05am.

Mr Flynn and Mr Thompson spoke about the economic benefits of attracting international sporting academies to Palmerston North. They had a review from a coach from Italy and he said that the Palmerston North facility was number one in his mind, over the Melbourne facility, because of the strong support group for the coaches, support from local sponsors to make it financially viable and the use of the indoor facility at the Arena. Mr Flynn mentioned that they had the chance to offer scholarships to a number of key groups and that there were opportunities for overseas exchanges.



Mr Thompson spoke about the Freyberg 'New Kiwis' programme and how Palmerston North was a magnet city for refugees and migrants. He mentioned what a life changing experience it is for the refugees and what they had to deal with before.

Moved Adrian Broad, seconded Duncan McCann.

### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Economic Development Committee receive the presentation for information.

Clause 7-18 above was carried 15 votes to 0, with 1 abstention, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

#### Abstained:

Councillor Leonie Hapeta.

## 8-18 Presentation - Palmerston North City Council Building Services

Presentation from Leigh Sage, Head of Building Services and Tyson Schmidt, Third Bearing Partner.

Mr Schmidt gave an overview on the new earthquake building systems introduced by Central Government and Council's implementation plans with key stakeholders. He advised that Palmerston North is in the high seismic zone and he spoke about the five key steps that have to be taken including:

- Council identifying potentially EQ Prone Buildings and let owners know.
- Owners to get engineering assessments done and send to Council.
- Council decides whether EQ Prone or not and if so then issues notice and lists on national register.
- Owner displays EQ Prone notice on their building.
- Owner undertakes EQ strengthening work.

Mr Schmidt explained about the two types of buildings being priority buildings and non-priority buildings and their timeframes for the key steps.

Moved Tangi Utikere, seconded Leonie Hapeta.

### The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Economic Development Committee receive the presentation for information.



### ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE - PART I

Clause 8-18 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

## 9-18 Confirmation of Minutes

Councillor Vaughan Dennison left the meeting at 9.46am.

Moved Adrian Broad, seconded Leonie Hapeta.

### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Economic Development Committee meeting of 12 February 2018 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 9-18 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

# 10-18 Summary Report on the December 2017 Manawatū Quarterly Economic Monitor, Residential Housing Building Consents, Major Developments and Quarterly Retail Report for January 2018

Memorandum, dated 28 February 2018 from the Economic Policy Advisor, Peter Crawford and the Chief Executive, CEDA, Linda Stewart.

Councillor Vaughan Dennison entered the meeting again at 10.12am

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Rachel Bowen.

### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the December 2017 Manawatu Quarterly Economic Monitor, Residential Building Consents, Major Developments and Quarterly Retail Report is received.

Clause 10-18 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.



## 11-18 Committee Work Schedule

Moved Adrian Broad, seconded Rachel Bowen.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Economic Development Committee receive its Work Schedule dated March 2018.

Clause 11-18 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Adrian Broad, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Duncan McCann, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting finished at 10.25am

Confirmed 16 April 2018

Chairperson