PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Economic Development Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 09 September 2019, commencing at 9.01am

Members Present:	Councillor Leonie Hapeta (Deputy Chairperson), The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Duncan McCann, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.
Non	Councillors Susan Baty, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor and Bruno

Members: Petrenas.

Apologies: The Mayor (Grant Smith) (for early departure) and Councillors Adrian Broad, Duncan McCann and Aleisha Rutherford (for early departure).

Councillor Aleisha Rutherford left the meeting at 10.12am during consideration of clause 37. She was not present for clauses 37 and 38.

33-19 Apologies

Moved Rachel Bowen, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 33-19 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

34-19 Presentation - The Factory

Mr Nick Gain and Mr Dave Craig from The Factory made a deputation to provide an update on the organisation.

The Factory has been around for 15 years and they build economic growth through stimulation and development of an entrepreneurial culture and ecosystem, as well as finding, funding and growing high growth start ups. The Factory operates regionally, nationally and internationally with Manawatu being their Headquarters.

Over the last 4 years 1,397 start ups have been identified with 79% of those start ups still trading now. Looking forward, the current focus is to have a national position in agritech; support town and campus connectivity and Food HQ bid; work intensively with over 50 start ups; and attract over 1,000 to their



entrepreneurial events.

They also spoke about their Innovate programme and advised that over the last 8 years they have had 1,506 entries into the programme with eight finalists in the 2019 programme, which had been increased from five. The programme had also been increased from 10 to 12 weeks with 8 new stakeholders, more weekly structure and support for the finalists and Tech Tour added as a prize.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Economic Development Committee receive the presentation for information.

Clause 34-19 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

35-19 Presentation - Central Palmerston North Business Improvement District Inc

Mr Rob Campbell, Chairperson of the Central Palmerston North Business Improvement District Inc., made a deputation to provide an update.

BID is a partnership between the occupants of the Central Business District and Council. It is a vehicle that allows the CBD community to influence the evolution of the CBD environment, with just about all cities in New Zealand and across the world have some form of BIDs. The BID boundary is the ring road, which they are looking to push out towards Victoria Avenue or Albert Street.

Mr Campbell mentioned their achievements which included engaging with in excess of 575 businesses, established a database of CBD businesses and begun analysis of this to get a picture of the CBD landscape. As well as holding a series of open meetings to establish both the key objectives and the BID Leadership Group; initiated development of a business plan for the BID; and begun actively working alongside Council on the Streetscape project, bus routes, city safety and security.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Rachel Bowen.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Economic Development Committee receive the presentation for information.

Clause 35-19 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:



For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

36-19 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Economic Development Committee meeting of 12 August 2019 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 36-19 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

37-19 Summary report on the June 2019 Manawatū Quarterly Economic Monitor, Major Developments, the Quarterly Retail Report for July 2019, and major economic events held during the year to June 2019 and update to the economic impact models

Memorandum presented by Linda Stewart, CEO, CEDA, Peter Crawford, Economic Policy Advisor.

Councillor Aleisha Rutherford left the meeting at 10.12am.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Rachel Bowen.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the June 2019 Manawatū Quarterly Economic Monitor, Major Developments, Quarterly Retail Report for July 2019, and Major Economic events during the year to June 2019 and update to the economic impact models, are received.

Clause 37-19 above was carried 13 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Leonie Hapeta, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

38-19 Committee Work Schedule

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Lorna Johnson.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Economic Development Committee receive its Work Schedule



ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE - PART I

09 SEPTEMBER 2019

dated September 2019.

Clause 38-19 above was carried 13 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Jim Jefferies, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting finished at 10.25am

Confirmed 16 September 2019

Deputy Chairperson

Chief Executive