# PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Planning & Strategy Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Elwood Room, Conference & Function Centre, 354 Main Street, Palmerston North on 10 June 2020, commencing at 9.04am

Members Councillor Aleisha Rutherford (in the Chair), The Mayor (Grant Smith) and

**Present:** Councillors Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Renee Dingwall, Patrick

Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Bruno

Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

**Non** Councillors Susan Baty, Vaughan Dennison and Karen Naylor.

Members:

**Apologies:** Councillor Lew Findlay (for lateness).

Councillor Lew Findlay was present when the meeting resumed at 11.46am. He was not present for clauses 13 to 15 inclusive.

# 13-20 Apologies

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 13-20 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

# 14-20 Public Comment

Ms Kerry Hocquard from the Cancer Society made public comment regarding the consultation on the draft Auahi Kore Smokefree and Vapefree Policy 2020.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

# The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the public comment be received for information.

Clause 14-20 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.



# 15-20 Hearing of Submissions - Amendment to the Cemeteries & Crematorium Bylaw

The following people appeared before the Committee and made oral statements in support of their submission and replied to questions from Elected Members.

# Vivien Sandbrook (4):

Ms Sandbrook spoke to her submission and made the additional following comments:

- Not in favour of removing clause 11.7.
- A cemetery should be a tranquil peaceful place to remember a loved one, shared space with faiths and ethnicities and needed to be neutral to all so no offence can be caused.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

# The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

- 1. That the Planning & Strategy Committee hear submissions from presenters who indicated their wish to be heard in support of their submission.
- 2. That the Committee note the Procedure for Hearing of Submissions, as described in the procedure sheet.

Clause 15-20 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting adjourned at 9.21am.

The meeting resumed at 11.46am.

Councillor Lew Findlay was present when the meeting resumed.

# 16-20 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

## The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Planning & Strategy Committee meeting of 11 March 2020 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 16-20 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.



# 17-20 Consultation on Draft Auahi Kore Smokefree and Vapefree Policy 2020

Report, presented by Lili Kato, Policy Analyst and Julie Macdonald, Strategy & Policy Manager.

In discussion the Elected Members requested some minor amendments be made to the Consultation Document so they gave the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson delegated authority to approve them.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

## The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

- 1. That the proposed Auahi Kore Smokefree and Vapefree Policy 2020 be approved for consultation (included in attachment 1 of the report titled 'Consultation on Draft Auahi Kore Smokefree and Vapefree Policy 2020' reported to the Planning & Strategy Committee on 10 June 2020).
- That the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Planning & Strategy Committee be authorised to approve any minor amendments to the Consultation Document of the draft Auahi Kore Smokefree and Vapefree Policy 2020.

Clause 17-20 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

# 18-20 BPO Quarterly Report - 2019-3

Memorandum, presented by Robert van Bentum, Manager - Transport & Infrastructure.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Leonie Hapeta.

# The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the update for the Wastewater BPO Project as detailed in the report titled `BPO Quarterly Report 2019-3' reported to the Planning & Strategy Committee on 10 June 2020, be received.

Clause 18-20 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

## 19-20 Council Commitment to Deliver Safe Drinking Water

Memorandum, presented by Robert van Bentum, Manager - Transport &



## PLANNING & STRATEGY COMMITTEE - PART I

10 JUNE 2020

Infrastructure and David Miller, Water Activity Manager.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

# The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

- That the report titled "Council Commitment to Deliver Safe Drinking Water", reported to the Planning & Strategy Committee on 10 June 2020, be received.
- 2. That the Commitment Statement included as an attachment to the report titled "Council Commitment to Deliver Safe Drinking Water", reported to the Planning & Strategy Committee on 10 June 2020, be formally adopted.
- 3. That Council delegate the Chief Executive to sign the Commitment Statement to be included in all Water Safety Plans to be submitted to the Drinking Water Assessor.

Clause 19-20 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

#### 20-20 Committee Work Schedule

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

## The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Planning & Strategy Committee receive its Work Schedule dated June 2020.

Clause 20-20 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting finished at 12.23pm

Confirmed 12 August 2020

# Chairperson