PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Rangitane o Manawatū Meeting held in The Conference Room, Conference & Function Centre, 354 Main Street, Palmerston North on 29 July 2020, commencing at 2.00pm.

Members The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe (in the Chair)

Present: Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor Karen Naylor,

and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

Members in Councillors Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Renee Dingwall,

Attendance Patrick Handcock ONZM, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Bruno Petrenas,

Aleisha Rutherford and Tangi Utikere.

The Mayor opened the meeting.

Karakia timatanga

Wiremu Te Awe Awe said the karakia timatanga.

Council Declaration of Office

Wiremu Te Awe Awe made his declaration of office and shared a few words.

1-20 Appointment of Chair and Deputy Chair for the Rangitane o Manawatu Committee for 2020.

Report presented by Hannah White, Democracy and Governance Manager.

Moved Vaughan Dennison, seconded Karen Naylor.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

 To agree Wiremu Te Awe Awe as the Chair for the Committee meeting 29 July 2020

The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

- 2. That Council appoint Wiremu Te Awe Awe to be the Chair of the Rangitane o Manawatū Committee for 2020.
- 3. That Council appoint Grant Smith, (the Mayor) to be the Deputy Chair of the Committee for 2020.

Clause 1-20 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor



RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ - PART I

29 JULY 2020

Karen Naylor, Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

Wiremu Te Awe Awe took the Chair.

2-20 Name of the Committee

Report, presented by Hannah White, Democracy and Governance Manager.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Danielle Harris.

The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

1. That the name "Rangitāne o Manawatū Committee" be confirmed for the 2019-2022 triennium.

Clause 2-20 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor Karen Naylor, Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

3-20 Public Participation at Meetings

Report, presented by Hannah White, Democracy and Governance Manager.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. To set aside a public comment section of not more than 30 minutes at the commencement of each ordinary meeting of the Committee to provide members of the community the opportunity to comment.

Clause 3-20 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor Karen Naylor, Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

4-20 Scope of Committee's Delegations and Terms of Reference

Report, presented by Hannah White, Democracy and Governance Manager.

Iwi representatives on the committee were asked to consider any changes they might like to make to the standing orders and to recommend these to the Committee.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. To note the report "Scope of Committee's Delegations and Terms of Reference" dated 29 July 2020.

Clause 4-20 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ - PART I

29 JULY 2020

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor Karen Naylor, Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

5-20 Te Motu o Poutoa Development Plan

Report, presented by Jason Pilkington, Parks Planner.

Mr Pilkington outlined the intention of a workshop with committee members and all councillors to review the work already done on the project and to consider future options for the development of the reserve.

He confirmed that the original budget for the development plan was still available, however any additional funding would need to be considered as part of the Long Term Plan process.

The Committee thanked the Parks Planning team for their work done on the Te Motu o Poutoa Development Plan and the Manawatū river framework.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Chris Whaiapu.

The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

- 1. That Council resumes development planning for Te Motu o Poutoa, as described in Option 1 of the report titled *Te Motu o Poutoa Development Plan*.
- 2. That the Council adopts the general planning timeframe and process for the Te Motu o Poutoa Development Plan described in the *Outline of Community Engagement* Section in the report titled *Te Motu o Poutoa Development Plan*.

Clause 5-20 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor Karen Naylor, Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

6-20 Work Schedule - Rangitāne o Manawatū Committee

The Committee added a six-monthly progress report on Te Motu o Poutoa development plan to the Committee's work schedule.

Moved Wiremu K Te Awe Awe, seconded Grant Smith.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

 That the Rangitāne o Manawatū Committee receive its Work Schedule dated July 2020.

Clause 6-20 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:



RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ - PART I

29 JULY 2020

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor Karen Naylor, Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

Next meeting date

The Committee suggested 2pm, 25 November 2020 as the next meeting date.

Karakia whakamutunga

Wiremu Te Awe Awe said the karakia whakamutunga

The meeting finished at 2.37PM

Confirmed 25 November 2020

Chairperson