# PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Planning & Strategy Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Elwood Room, Conference & Function Centre, 354 Main Street, Palmerston North on 09 September 2020, commencing at 9.00am

Members Councillors Aleisha Rutherford (in the Chair), Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen,

Present: Zulfigar Butt, Renee Dingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna

Johnson, Billy Meehan, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

**Non** Councillors Susan Baty, Vaughan Dennison and Karen Naylor.

Members:

Apologies: The Mayor (Grant Smith) (on Council Business) and Councillor Lew Findlay (for

lateness).

Councillor Lew Findlay entered the meeting at 11.15am during consideration of clause 33. He was not present for clauses 30 to 32 inclusive.

# 30-20 Apologies

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Billy Meehan.

## The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 30-20 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting adjourned at 9.02am. The meeting resumed at 11.12am.

#### 31-20 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

# The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Planning & Strategy Committee meeting of 12 August 2020 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 31-20 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

PLANNING & STRATEGY COMMITTEE - PART I

09 SEPTEMBER 2020

# 32-20 Review of the Stormwater Drainage Bylaw - section 155 LGA determination report

Report, presented by Julie Macdonald - Policy and Strategy Manager.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

## The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

- That pursuant to s 155(1) of the Local Government Act 2002, the Council
  determines that a bylaw is the most appropriate way of addressing the
  perceived problem of providing a reliable and efficient stormwater
  drainage system that maintains public health and safety and preserves the
  environment.
- 2. That pursuant to s 155(2)(a) of the Local Government Act 2002, the Council determines that a stand-alone bylaw is the most appropriate form for a stormwater drainage bylaw.
- 3. That pursuant to s 155(2)(b) of the Local Government Act 2002, the Council agrees that it is not anticipated that a revised bylaw would give rise to implications under the New Zealand Bill of Rights Act 1990.
- 4. That the Chief Executive be instructed to draft an amended Stormwater Drainage Bylaw which addresses the perceived problem of providing a reliable and efficient stormwater drainage system that maintains public health and safety and preserves the environment.

Clause 32-20 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

# 33-20 BPO Quarterly Report 2019 - No.4

Memorandum, presented by Tom Williams, Chief Infrastructure Officer and Melaina Voss, Wastewater BPO Project Manager.

Councillor Lew Findlay entered the meeting at 11.15am.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

# The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the update for the Wastewater BPO Project as detailed in the report titled `BPO Quarterly Report 2019 – No.4' presented to the Planning & Strategy Committee on 9 September 2020, be received.

Clause 33-20 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

PLANNING & STRATEGY COMMITTEE - PART I

09 SEPTEMBER 2020

# 34-20 Committee Work Schedule

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

# The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Planning & Strategy Committee receive its Work Schedule dated September 2020.

Clause 34-20 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

## For:

Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Tangi Utikere.

The meeting finished at 11.26am

Confirmed 14 October 2020

# Chairperson