PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 10 December 2020, commencing at 8.30am.

Members Grant Smith (The Mayor) (in the Chair) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan

Present: Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew

Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen

Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

Apologies: Councillor Leonie Hapeta

Councillor Leonie Hapeta entered the meeting at 8.33am before consideration of clause 145. She was not present for clause 144 inclusive.

146-20 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

RESOLVED

That Council receive the apologies for Councillor Leonie Hapeta (for lateness).

Clause 146-20 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

Councillor Leonie Hapeta arrived at the meeting at 8.33am.

REPORTS

147-20 Annual Meeting Calendar 2021

Memorandum, presented by Hannah White, Democracy & Governance Manager.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

RESOLVED

To adopt the Annual Meeting Calendar 2021 (Appendix 1) to the report titled 'Annual Meeting Calendar 2021'.

Clause 147-20 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar



EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL - PART I

10 DECEMBER 2020

Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC

148-20 Recommendation to Exclude Public

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

RESOLVED

"That the public be excluded from the following parts of the proceedings of this meeting listed in the table below.

The general subject of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter, and the specific grounds under Section 48(1) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 for the passing of this resolution are as follows:

General subject of each matter to be considered		Reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter	Ground(s) under Section 48(1) for passing this resolution
6.	Memorial Park	Negotiations	s7(2)(i)

This resolution is made in reliance on Section 48(1)(a) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and the particular interest or interests protected by Section 6 or Section 7 of that Act which would be prejudiced by the holding of the whole or the relevant part of the proceedings of the meeting in public as stated in the above table.

Clause 148-20 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

The public part of the meeting finished at 8.40am

Confirmed 21 December 2020

Mayor