PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Committee of Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 23 June 2021, commencing at 1.03pm

Members Grant Smith (The Mayor) (in the Chair) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan

Present: Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew

Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy

Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

Apologies: Councillor Orphée Mickalad (absent on Council business).

Councillor Orphée Mickalad entered the meeting at 1.47pm during consideration of clause 35. He was not present for clauses 32 to 34 inclusive.

32-21 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 32-21 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

33-21 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Committee of Council meeting of 9 June 2021 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record, as amended.

Clause 33-21 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

34-21 Adoption of Council strategic direction

Memorandum, presented by David Murphy, Chief Planning Officer and Julie Macdonald, Strategy and Policy Manager.



COMMITTEE OF COUNCIL - PART I

23 JUNE 2021

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

The COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS

1. That the strategies and plans listed below and attached to the memorandum titled 'Adoption of Council strategic direction', presented to the Committee of Council on 23 June 2021, are adopted as the strategic direction underpinning the 2021-31 10-Year plan:

Te rautaki tāone auaha, tāone tiputipu – Innovative and growing city strategy

Te whakatipu tāone – City growth plan

Te whakawhanake ōhanga – Economic development plan

Ngā aranukunuku - Transport plan

Te tāone whakaihiihi, tapatapahi ana - Creative and liveable city strategy

Te hapori hohe – Active communities plan

Te toi me te taonga tuku iho – Arts and heritage plan

Te ahuahu tāone – City shaping plan

Te rautaki hapori tūhonohono – Connected communities strategy

Te hapori tūhonohono – Connected communities plan

Te hapori haumaru – Safe communities plan

He rautaki tāone tautaiao – Eco city strategy

Te āhuarangi hurihuri – Climate change plan

Te taiao toitū – Environmental sustainability plan

Te Awa o Manawatū – Manawatū River plan

Te whakaaraara rawa – Resource recovery plan

Ngā wai - Waters plan

Te mana urungi papai tonu me te kirirarautanga hohe – Governance and active citizenship plan

2. That the City Spatial Plan, attached to the memorandum titled 'Adoption of Council strategic direction', presented to the Committee of Council on 23 June 2021, is adopted.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

- 3. That the strategies and plans attached to the memorandum titled 'Adoption of Council strategic direction', presented to the Committee of Council on 23 June 2021, replace the strategic framework adopted by Council on 11 June 2018.
- 4. That the executive summaries of the Asset Management Plans, listed below and attached to the memorandum titled 'Adoption of Council



COMMITTEE OF COUNCIL - PART I

23 JUNE 2021

strategic direction', presented to the Committee of Council on 23 June 2021', are received:

AMP Parks and reserves

AMP Property

AMP Resource recovery

AMP Stormwater

AMP Transport

AMP Wastewater

AMP Water

5. That any minor amendments are able to be made to the attached documents prior to publication with the agreement of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Clause 34-21 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

35-21 Approving the 2021-31 10-Year Plan (Long-term Plan) for Audit

Memorandum, presented by David Murphy, Chief Planning Officer and Stuart McKinnon, Chief Financial Officer.

Councillor Orphée Mickalad entered the meeting at 1.47pm.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

- That the 2021 Revenue and Financing Policy, as shown in the draft of the 10-Year Plan (Long-term Plan) (separately attached as Appendix 2), be adopted.
- 2. That the 2021 Development Contributions Policy (separately attached as Appendix 3) be adopted, as amended.
- 3. That the 2021 Significance and Engagement Policy (separately attached as Appendix 4) be adopted.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

4. That any minor amendments are able to be made to the attached documents prior to publication with the agreement of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Clause 35-21 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar



COMMITTEE OF COUNCIL - PART I

23 JUNE 2021

Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

5. That the 2021-31 10-Year Plan (Long-term Plan) (separately attached as Appendix 1) be referred to Audit New Zealand and presented to Council on 7 July 2021 for approval.

Clause 35-21 above was carried 15 votes to 1, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Bruno Petrenas and Aleisha Rutherford.

Against:

Councillor Karen Naylor.

The meeting finished at 1.59pm

Confirmed

Chairperson