# KAUNIHERA O PAPAIOEA

# PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Ngā meneti o te wāhanga tūmatanui o te hui o Rangitāne o Manawatū, i tū ki te Taiwhanga Kaunihera, i te papa tuatahi o Te Whare Whakahaere o te Kaunihera. Te Marae o Hine, Papaioea, i te 2 o Hakihea 2021, tîmata ake i te rima meneti mai i te iwa i te ata.

Minutes of the Rangitane o Manawatū Meeting Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North, on 02 December 2021, commencing at 9.05am.

Members The Mayor (Grant Smith) (in the Chair), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Present:

Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Councillor Karen

Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

Councillors Brent Barrett, Zulfigar Butt, Renee Dingwall, Pat Non Members

in Attendance: Handcock, Billy Meehan and Bruno Petrenas.

**Apologies** Councillors Lorna Johnson, Orphee Mickalad, Lew Findlay, Susan

from Non Baty, Leonie Hapeta and Aleisha Rutherford (late arrival).

Members:

#### Karakia Timatanga

Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe opened the meeting.

#### 5-21 **Apologies**

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Wiremu Te Awe Awe.

## The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 5-21 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

#### 6-21 **Confirmation of Minutes**



# RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ - PART I - 02 DECEMBER 2021

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Wiremu Te Awe Awe.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Rangitāne o Manawatū meeting of 30 June 2021 Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 6-21 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

### 7-21 Te Motu O Poutoa Development Plan: Progress Report

Memorandum, presented by Kathy Dever-Tod, Manager - Parks and Reserves.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Wiremu Te Awe Awe.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the need for a councillor workshop on Te Motu o Poutoa be noted and endorsed.

Clause 7-21 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Wiremu Te Awe Awe.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

2. That progress on the Te Motu o Poutoa Development Plan be noted.

Clause 7-21 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Wiremu Te Awe Awe.

#### The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

3. That a PNCC Elected Member is added to the Design Working party for Te Motu o Poutoa.

Clause 7-21 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.



# RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ - PART I - 02 DECEMBER 2021

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Wiremu Te Awe Awe.

### The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

4. That Anzac Park reference and status is retained when referring to Te Motu o Poutoa.

Clause 7-21 above was carried 4 votes to 2, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison and Ms Danielle Harris.

#### Against:

Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

### 8-21 Work Schedule - Rangitāne o Manawatū Committee

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Wiremu Te Awe Awe.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

To receive its Work Schedule (amended to include a report on the Committee's Terms of Reference) dated December 2021.

Clause 8-21 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

Moved Karen Naylor, seconded Grant Smith.

## The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

To include on its Work Schedule further update reports on joint-working on reserves between Rangitāne o Manawatū and PNCC.

Clause 8-21 above was carried 6 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Cr Vaughan Dennison, Ms Danielle Harris, Cr Karen Naylor and Mr Chris Whaiapu.

#### Karakia Whakamutunga

Mr Wiremu Te Awe Awe closed the meeting.



# RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ - PART I - 02 DECEMBER 2021

The meeting finished at 10.06am

Confirmed 6 April 2022.

Chairperson

