PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Planning & Strategy Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 11 May 2022, commencing at 9.01am

MembersCouncillor Aleisha Rutherford (in the Chair), The Mayor (Grant Smith)Present:and Councillors Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, ReneeDingwall, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy
Meehan, Bruno Petrenas and Orphée Mickalad.

NonCouncillors Susan Baty, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM and KarenMembers:Naylor.

Declarations of Interest

Councillor Patrick Handcock ONZM declared an interest in item 6 Options for Road Closure (clause 23) but stated he would consider the item with an open mind.

22-22 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the minutes of the Planning & Strategy Committee meeting of 13 April 2022 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 22-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Orphée Mickalad.

23-22 Options for Road Closure

Memorandum, presented by Julie Macdonald, Strategy & Policy Manager, Chris Lai, Senior Transportation Engineer and Nick Jessen of CR Law.

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the memorandum titled 'Options for Road Closure' dated 11 May 2022.



PLANNING & STRATEGY COMMITTEE - PART I - 11 MAY 2022

Clause 23-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Orphée Mickalad.

24-22 Committee Work Schedule

The Work Schedule was amended to include:

 Amendment of Traffic and Parking Bylaw in response to street racing issues (draft proposed for September 2022)

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Planning & Strategy Committee receive its Work Schedule dated May 2022, as amended.

Clause 24-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Orphée Mickalad.

Wastewater Discharge Consent Project - Progress Update

Memorandum, presented by Mike Monaghan, Group Manager - 3 Waters, David Warburton, Project Manager – Wastewater Consent Project and Padraig McNamara of Simpson Grierson.

The Committee moved to closed session to discuss the confidential attachment.

EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC

25-22 Recommendation to Exclude Public

Moved Aleisha Rutherford, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

That the public be excluded from the following parts of the proceedings of this meeting listed in the table below.

The general subject of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter, and the specific grounds under Section 48(1) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 for the passing



PLANNING & STRATEGY COMMITTEE - PART I - 11 MAY 2022

of this resolution are as follows:

General subject of each matter to be considered		Reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter	Ground(s) under Section 48(1) for passing this resolution
8.	Wastewater Discharge Consent Project – Progress Update (Attachment 2)	Legal Privilege – s7(2)(g)	Legal Privilege – s7(2)(g)

This resolution is made in reliance on Section 48(1)(a) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and the particular interest or interests protected by Section 6 or Section 7 of that Act which would be prejudiced by the holding of the whole or the relevant part of the proceedings of the meeting in public as stated in the above table.

Also that the persons listed below be permitted to remain after the public has been excluded for the reasons stated.

David Warburton and Padraig McNamara because of their knowledge and ability to assist the meeting in speaking to their report and answering questions, noting that such persons will be present at the meeting only for the items that relate to their respective report.

Clause 26-22 above was carried 13 votes to 1, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor and Bruno Petrenas.

Against:

Councillor Lorna Johnson.

The public part of the meeting resumed at 11.19am.

26-22 Wastewater Discharge Consent Project - Progress Update

Memorandum, presented by Mike Monaghan, Group Manager - 3 Waters.

Moved Karen Naylor, seconded Rachel Bowen.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

3. To note the report and that quarterly updates will be added to the Planning & Strategy Committee Work Schedule.



PLANNING & STRATEGY COMMITTEE - PART I - 11 MAY 2022

Clause 26-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Aleisha Rutherford, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Orphée Mickalad.

The meeting finished at 11.27am.

Confirmed 8 June 2022

Chairperson