PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Economic Development Committee Meeting, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 15 June 2022, commencing at 1.02pm.

MembersCouncillor Leonie Hapeta (in the Chair), The Mayor (Grant Smith) and
Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison,
Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Orphée
Mickalad, Bruno Petrenas, and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

Non Councillors Billy Meehan and Karen Naylor.

Members:

Apologies: Councillors Rachel Bowen, Lorna Johnson and Aleisha Rutherford (for late arrival).

Councillor Billy Meehan entered the meeting at 1.24pm at the conclusion of clause 11. He was not present for clauses 10 and 11.

Councillor Aleisha Rutherford entered the meeting at 1.39pm during consideration of clause 12. She was not present for clauses 10 and 11.

10-22 Apologies

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 10-22 above was carried 13 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

11-22 Presentation - Manawatech

Presentation, by Steve Pavarno, Chief Executive, Manawatech.

Steve Pavarno discussed the Manawatū tech industry, and the value of the tech industry to the New Zealand economy. He spoke on the importance of tech staff to enable a business to grow.

He explained Manawatech's role as a facilitator, advocate and promoter of the tech industry in the Manawatū. They provide a valuable networking service for tech staff/ companies in the region, including:

• a CV database which connects workers with companies



- a mentoring programme, and
- hold monthly meetings which attract big international tech companies to speak to members.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the presentation for information.

Clause 11-22 above was carried 13 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

Councillor Billy Meehan entered the meeting at 1:24pm.

12-22 Presentation - Central Economic Development Agency (CEDA)

Presentation, by Jerry Shearman, Chief Executive, CEDA.

Jerry Shearman provided the Committee with an update on CEDA's inward investment approach. He explained the four tiers of work CEDA focuses on. These are:

- Project based key strategic projects
- Adhoc and of scale large inward investment opportunities
- Adhoc and small smaller opportunities for inward investment, eg. smaller companies looking to establish in the region.
- Third party led CEDA provides funding to entrepreneurs to enable them to get established, through the Factory and Sprout Agritech.

CEDA's role in inward investment is to provide expertise, advice and support to encourage investments, facilitate and promote business in the region.

Mr Shearman outlined some of CEDA's current major projects:

- Te Utanganui/ Central Railway Hub official launch in July 2022.
- Food Strategy Stage 1 focus on the existing food science cluster is complete, and Stage 2 is being scoped.

Councillor Aleisha Rutherford entered the meeting at 1:39pm.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the presentation for information.

Clause 12-22 above was carried 14 votes to 0, with 1 abstention, the voting being as follows:



For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

Abstained:

Councillor Aleisha Rutherford.

13-22 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the minutes of the Economic Development Committee meeting of 16 March 2022 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 13-22 above was carried 14 votes to 0, with 1 abstention, the voting being as follows:

For:

Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

Abstained:

The Mayor (Grant Smith).

14-22 Summary report on the March 2022 Palmerston North Quarterly Economic Monitor

Memorandum, presented by Peter Crawford, Economic Policy Adviser & Kian Lee, Policy Analyst.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the Summary report on the March 2022 Palmerston North Quarterly Economic Monitor for information.

Clause 14-22 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

15-22 Tourism Sector Profile and Government Sector Profile

Memorandum, presented by Peter Crawford, Economic Policy Adviser & Janet Reynolds, Destination Development Project Manager (Central Economic Development Agency).



Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Aleisha Rutherford.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the memorandum titled 'Tourism Sector Profile and Government Sector Profile' for information.

Clause 15-22 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

16-22 Portfolio Update - Housing

Memorandum, presented by Councillor Susan Baty, Lead Portfolio Member for Housing.

Moved Susan Baty, seconded Brent Barrett.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the report titled 'Portfolio Update – Housing' for information.

Clause 16-22 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Ruma Karaitiana.

17-22 Work Schedule - June 2022

Moved Vaughan Dennison, seconded Brent Barrett.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive its Work Schedule dated June 2022.

Clause 17-22 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Renee Dingwall, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas, Aleisha Rutherford and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

The meeting finished at 2.22pm



Confirmed 21 September 2022

Chairperson