PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Economic Development Committee Meeting, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 21 September 2022, commencing at 1.01pm.

Members Councillor Leonie Hapeta (in the Chair), The Mayor (Grant Smith) and

Present: Councillors Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfigar Butt,

Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Orphée

Mickalad, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

Non Councillors Lorna Johnson and Karen Naylor.

Members:

Apologies: Councillors Renee Dingwall (late arrival), Billy Meehan and Aleisha

Rutherford,

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 1.03pm during consideration of clause 20-22. He was not present for clauses 18 and 19.

18-22 Apologies

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 18-22 above was carried 13 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

19-22 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Vaughan Dennison, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Economic Development Committee meeting of 15 June 2022 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 19-22 above was carried 12 votes to 0, with 1 abstention, the voting being as follows:

For:

Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Orphée



ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE - PART I - 21 SEPTEMBER 2022

Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

Abstained:

Councillor Lorna Johnson.

20-22 International Relations and Education 6-monthly report

Memorandum, presented by Gabrielle Nguyen, International Relations Manager.

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 1.03pm

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

 That the Committee note the progress on the International Relations and Education activity over the past six months, contributing to the Economic Development Plan and Innovative and Growing City Strategy.

Clause 20-22 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.

21-22 Summary Report on the June 2022 Palmerston North Quarterly Economic Monitor and Major events held during the year ending June 2022

Memorandum, presented by Stacey Bell, City Economist and Kian Lee, Policy Analyst.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the report titled 'Summary report on the June 2022 Palmerston North Quarterly Economic Monitor and Major events held during the year ending June 2022' for information.

Clause 21-22 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Mr Ruma Karaitiana.



ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE - PART I - 21 SEPTEMBER 2022

22-22 Work Schedule - September 2022

Moved Vaughan Dennison, seconded Patrick Handcock ONZM.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive its Work Schedule for September 2022.

Clause 22-22 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Leonie Hapeta, Brent Barrett, Susan Baty, Rachel Bowen, Zulfiqar Butt, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay QSM, Patrick Handcock ONZM, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, Bruno Petrenas and Ruma Karaitiana.

The meeting finished at 1.50pm

Confirmed

Chairperson

Chief Executive