PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 09 November 2022, commencing at 9.04am

Members Present:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) (in the Chair) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

144-22 Late Item

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the late item titled 'Te Manawa Museums Trust – Annual Report 2021-22'.

Reason for Lateness

The financial statements were mistakenly not included in Attachment 2 of the Te Manawa Trust report (Item 7).

Reason for Urgency

In order to receive the Annual Report at this meeting, the Council must receive the Annual Report in its entirety.

Clause 144-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

Welcome to the New Chief Executive Waid Crockett and farewell to Acting Chief Executive Chris Dyhrberg

The Mayor welcomed the new Chief Executive Waid Crockett and acknowledged Chris Dyhrberg's tenure as Acting Chief Executive.

Acknowledgement of Service - Councillors Zulfiqar Butt and Bruno Petrenas

The Mayor and Wiremu Te Awe Awe acknowledged the service of former Councillors Zulfiqar Butt and Bruno Petrenas. It was then opened to the floor for other Elected Members to speak.



COUNCIL - PART I - 09 NOVEMBER 2022

Zulfiqar Butt spoke about his time at Council and thanked his former colleagues.

145-22 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That the minutes of the ordinary meeting of 26 October 2022 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 145-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

REPORTS

146-22 Te Manawa Museums Trust - Annual Report 2021-22

Memorandum, presented by Caroline Tate, Chair of Te Manawa Museums Trust Board, Susanna Shadbolt, Chief Executive of Te Manawa and Catherine Parsons, Finance Leader of Te Manawa.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

- 1. That Council receive Te Manawa Museums Trust Board's unaudited Annual Report 2021-22 (Late Item replacing Attachment 2).
- 2. That Council note Te Manawa Museums Trust's Business Plan 2022-32 (Attachment 3).

Clause 146-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

The meeting adjourned at 10.36am. The meeting resumed at 10.53am.

147-22 The Globe Theatre Trust - Annual Report 2021-22

Memorandum, presented by John Adams, Chair of The Globe Theatre Trust Board and Gerry Keating, Manager of The Globe Theatre.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.



COUNCIL - PART I - 09 NOVEMBER 2022

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the Globe Theatre Trust Board's unaudited Annual Report 2021/22 (Attachment 2).

Clause 147-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

148-22 The Regent Theatre Trust - Annual Report 2021-22

Memorandum, presented by David Lea, Chair of The Regent Theatre Trust Board and David Walsh, Manager of The Regent Theatre.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the Regent Theatre Trust Board's unaudited Annual Report 2021-22 (Attachment 2).

Clause 148-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

149-22 Palmerston North Airport Limited - Annual report for 12 months ended 30 June 2022 & Instructions relating to Annual Meeting

Memorandum, presented by Steve Paterson, Strategy Manager – Finance, Shelley Mitchell-Jenkins, Director of the PNAL Board and David Lanham, Chief Executive of PNAL.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

- 1. That the Annual Report and Financial Statements of Palmerston North Airport Limited for the year ended 30 June 2022 be received.
- That the Council shareholder representative be instructed to support the proposed resolutions to be considered at the Annual Meeting of Palmerston North Airport Limited to be conducted by way of resolution in writing.

Clause 149-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick



COUNCIL - PART I - 09 NOVEMBER 2022

Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

Adoption of Code of Conduct 2022

The Mayor advised that this item would be deferred to the next appropriate Council meeting.

Adoption of Standing Orders 2022

The Mayor advised that this item would be deferred to the next appropriate Council meeting.

150-22 Council Work Schedule

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That the Council receive its Work Schedule dated 9 November 2022. Clause 150-22 above was carried 16 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

The meeting finished at 12.32pm

Confirmed 16 November 2022

Mayor