PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 16 August 2023, commencing at 2.03pm.

Members Grant Smith (The Mayor) (in the Chair) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Present: Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick

Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée

Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

Apologies: Councillor Vaughan Dennison, and Councillor Rachel Bowen for

lateness.

Karakia Timatanga

Councillor Roly Fitzgerald opened the meeting with karakia.

122-23 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the apologies from Councillor Vaughan Dennison, and Councillor Rachel Bowen for lateness.

Clause 122-23 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

Declaration of Interest

Councillor Debi Marshall-Lobb declared an interest in Item 14 'Trustee Appointment to The Globe Theatre Trust Board and Director Appointment to Palmerston North Airport Ltd' (confidential) and took no further part in discussion or debate on that Item.

Acknowledgement of the passing of Roni Fitzmaurice

The Mayor paid tribute to former city and regional councillor Ms. Roni Fitzmaurice, who passed away on July 22 2023.

Attendees stood for a moment of silence.



COUNCIL - PART I - 16 AUGUST 2023

123-23 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That the minutes of the ordinary meeting of 28 June 2023 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 123-23 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

REPORTS

124-23 Transport Choices: Public Transport Consultation Process and Amendment to Delegations Manual

Report, presented by Hamish Featonby, Group Manager - Transport and Developments.

The mover of Option 3 stated that the hearing of objections by the Economic Growth Committee would save additional costs and that various Committee members hold a current Ministry for the Environment's Making Good Decisions commissioner accreditation.

Moved Leonie Hapeta, seconded Lorna Johnson.

RESOLVED

 That the Economic Growth Committee hear objections to the installation of bus shelters and recommend determination to Council (Option 3).

Clause 124-23 above was carried 13 votes to 1, the voting being as follows:

For

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

Against:

Councillor Orphée Mickalad.



COUNCIL - PART I - 16 AUGUST 2023

125-23 Submission to Waka Kotahi's Speed Review of State Highway 56 for Longburn Village and Longburn to Palmerston North

Memorandum, presented by Keegan Aplin-Thane, Acting Principal Planner.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That Council approve the submission on State Highway 56 Longburn village and Longburn to Palmerston North speed review (Attachment 1) for lodgement to Waka Kotahi.

Clause 125-23 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

126-23 Council Work Schedule

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

1. That the Council receive its Work Schedule dated August 2023.

Clause 126-23 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC

127-23 Exclusion of Public

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

RESOLVED

"That the public be excluded from the following parts of the proceedings of this meeting listed in the table below.

The general subject of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter, and the specific grounds under Section 48(1) of the Local



COUNCIL - PART I - 16 AUGUST 2023

Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 for the passing of this resolution are as follows:

General subject of each matter to be considered		Reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter	Ground(s) under Section 48(1) for passing this resolution
11.	Minutes of the ordinary meeting - Part II Confidential - 28 June 2023	For the reasons set out in the ordinary minutes of 28 June 2023, held in public present.	
12.	Transport Choices: Tender Award for Design and Build of Bus Shelters	Third Party Commercial	s7(2)(b)(ii)
13.	Setters Line South Stage 2: Request for Additional Funding and Award Tender	Third Party Commercial	s7(2)(b)(ii)
14.	Trustee Appointment to The Globe Theatre Trust Board and Director Appointment to Palmerston North Airport Ltd	Privacy	s7(2)(a)

This resolution is made in reliance on Section 48(1)(a) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and the particular interest or interests protected by Section 6 or Section 7 of that Act which would be prejudiced by the holding of the whole or the relevant part of the proceedings of the meeting in public as stated in the above table.

Clause 127-23 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

The public part of the meeting finished at 2.45pm

Confirmed 6 September 2023