# PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 27 September 2023, commencing at 1.00PM

- MembersGrant Smith (The Mayor) (in the Chair) and Councillors Debi Marshall-<br/>Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison,<br/>Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy<br/>Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee<br/>Zabelin.
- **Apologies:** Councillor Lew Findlay.

## Karakia Timatanga

Councillor Roly Fitzgerald opened the meeting with karakia.

## 152-23 Apologies

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

#### RESOLVED

1. That Council receive the apologies from Councillor Lew Findlay.

Clause 153-23 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

#### 153-23 Public comment

Brian Holmes, from Ebony Coffee and Coffee in a Box, made public comment on Item 6 'Featherston Street Cycleway Update' (clause 154), making the following points:

- Council has not engaged properly with him as owner of affected businesses.
- Small businesses on Featherston Street have been there for a long time and are good contributors to the local economy and a source of employment.



# EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL - PART I - 27 SEPTEMBER 2023

- Lack of testing of major decisions such as removing carparks and median strips.
- Community have not had the chance to comment on the final designs brought for consideration to this meeting. Residents have not been kept duly informed.
- Supports safety improvements but considers that Council should think of adverse impacts on businesses too.
- A decision will be made without enough grounds, poor risk analysis and actual costing is unknown.
- The loss of carparking outside his business would result in a loss of \$250,000 for the turnover in the first year, and consequently 2 and a half staff would be made redundant.
- Very few cyclists pass by the shop.

He also added, in relation to Summerhill cycleways project, that addressing safety issues only by adding cycleways but not reducing speed has not been the best solution. Latest designs include cycleways on the footpath, so carparks are kept. Affected businesses had advocated for this solution.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

# RESOLVED

1. That the public comment be received for information.

Clause 153-23 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Billy Meehan, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor, William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

# REPORTS

## 154-23 Featherston Street Cycleway Update

Memorandum, presented by Bryce Hosking, Acting Group Manager -Transport and Development, and Michael Bridge, Service Manager -Active Transport.

An additional motion was passed requesting a report back to assure the Council and document the engagement process undertaken for this project.

Moved Grant Smith, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

# RESOLVED

1. That Council endorse the detailed design for the Featherston Street



# EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL - PART I - 27 SEPTEMBER 2023

cycleway (including pedestrian crossings) project (Attachment 1) and support these being submitted to Waka Kotahi for design approval.

- 2. That Council note the public feedback that was received from the trials that were undertaken for various elements of the Featherston Street Cycleway project.
- 3. That the Chief Executive provide a Business Assurance Report on Featherston Street Cycleway and Safety Improvements process and engagement.

Clause 154-23 above was carried 10 votes to 5, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Debi Marshall-Lobb, Brent Barrett, Rachel Bowen, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, Karen Naylor and Kaydee Zabelin.

#### Against:

Councillors Mark Arnott, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Billy Meehan and William Wood.

# Karakia Whakamutunga

Councillor Roly Fitzgerald closed the meeting with karakia.

The meeting finished at 2.59pm

Confirmed 4 October 2023

Mayor