# PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Ngā meneti o te wāhanga tūmatanui o te hui o Rangitāne o Manawatū, i tū ki te Taiwhanga Kaunihera, i te papa tuatahi o Te Whare Whakahaere o te Kaunihera, Te Marae o Hine, Papaioea, i te 30 o Whiringa-ā-nuku 2024, tīmata ake i te rua karaka me te whā meneti i te ahiahi.

Minutes of the Rangitane o Manawatū Committee Meeting Part I the Council Chamber. held in First Floor. Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 30 October 2024, commencing at 2.04pm.

Members Wiremu Te Awe Awe (in the Chair), Councillor Vaughan Dennison, Present:

Councillor Roly Fitzgerald, Councillor Debi Marshall-Lobb, Councillor Billy

Meehan, Councillor Karen Naylor, Councillor Kaydee Zabelin.

Non Councillor Orphée Mickalad

Members:

Apologies: The Mayor (Grant Smith), Danielle Harris, Chris Whaiapu

### Karakia Timatanga

Councillor Roly Fitzgerald opened the meeting with karakia

#### 16-24 **Apologies**

Moved Debi Marshall-Lobb, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 16-24 above was carried 7 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor and Kaydee Zabelin.

#### 17-24 **Confirmation of Minutes**

Moved Debi Marshall-Lobb, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

That the minutes of the Rangitane o Manawatū Committee meeting of 11 September 2024 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct



### RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ COMMITTEE - PART I - 30 OCTOBER 2024

record.

Clause 17-24 above was carried 7 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For

Councillors Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor and Kaydee Zabelin.

### 18-24 Te Motu o Poutoa Development Programme - Update

Memorandum, presented by Kathy Dever-Tod, Manager Parks and Reserves.

Moved Wiremu Te Awe Awe, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

#### The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

- 1. That Council agree the terms of reference of the Te Motu o Poutoa Steering Group (Attachment 1).
- 2. That Council investigate the use of a council-controlled organisation (CCO) or other subsidiary entity model as the start-up structure for the Te Motu o Poutoa Marae and Cultural Centre.

Clause 18-24 above was carried 7 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor and Kaydee Zabelin.

Moved Wiremu Te Awe Awe, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

### The **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS**

3. That Council endorse the Te Motu o Poutoa Programme Steering Group position that they do not wish to seek funding from Gaming Trusts for this project.

Clause 18-24 above was carried 5 votes to 2, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb and Kaydee Zabelin.

#### Against:

Councillors Billy Meehan and Karen Naylor.

### 19-24 Te Whiri Kōkō - Council Engagement with Rangitāne o Manawatū

Memorandum, presented by Todd Taiepa, Poutoko Aporei Principal Māori Advisor.

Moved Wiremu Te Awe Awe, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Committee receive the memorandum titled 'Te Whiri Kōkō -



# RANGITĀNE O MANAWATŪ COMMITTEE - PART I - 30 OCTOBER 2024

Council Engagement with Rangitāne o Manawatū' presented to the Rangitāne o Manawatū Committee on 30 October 2024.

Clause 19-24 above was carried 7 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor and Kaydee Zabelin.

## 20-24 Work Schedule for Whiringa-ā-nuku October 2024.

Moved Wiremu Te Awe Awe, seconded Debi Marshall-Lobb.

## The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Rangitāne o Manawatū Committee receive its Work Schedule dated Whiringa-ā-nuku October 2024.

Clause 20-24 above was carried 7 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Councillors Wiremu Te Awe Awe, Vaughan Dennison, Roly Fitzgerald, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Billy Meehan, Karen Naylor and Kaydee Zabelin.

### Karakia Whakamutunga

Councillor Roly Fitzgerald closed the meeting with karakia

The meeting finished at 2.53pm

Confirmed 2 April 2025.

Chair