## PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Risk & Assurance Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 27 November 2024, commencing at 1.02pm

MembersStephen Armstrong (in the Chair) and Councillors Karen Naylor, MarkPresent:Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson,<br/>William Wood and Kaydee Zabelin.

Non Councillor Patrick Handcock.

Members:

**Apologies:** The Mayor (Grant Smith) (late arrival, on Council business) and Councillor Orphée Mickalad (late arrival).

Councillor Orphée Mickalad entered the meeting at 1.35pm during consideration of clause 34. He was not present for clauses 30 to 33 inclusive.

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 2.15pm during consideration of clause 35. He was not present for clauses 30-34 inclusive.

#### Karakia Timatanga

Councillor Kaydee Zabelin opened the meeting with karakia.

#### 30-24 Apologies

Moved Stephen Armstrong, seconded Karen Naylor.

#### The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 30-24 above was carried 10 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Stephen Armstrong and Councillors Karen Naylor, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin and Patrick Handcock.

#### 31-24 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Stephen Armstrong, seconded Karen Naylor.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Risk & Assurance Committee meetings of:



## RISK & ASSURANCE COMMITTEE - PART I - 27 NOVEMBER 2024

- 11 September 2024 Part I Public
- 11 September 2024 Part II Confidential
- 23 October 2024 Part I Public

be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 31-24 above was carried 10 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Stephen Armstrong and Councillors Karen Naylor, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin and Patrick Handcock.

#### 32-24 Health and Safety Report, 1 July to 30 September 2024 (Quarter 1)

Memorandum, presented by Selwyn Ponga-Davis, Health and Safety Manager.

Moved Stephen Armstrong, seconded Karen Naylor.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

- 1. That the Committee receive the memorandum titled 'Health and Safety Report, 1 July to 30 September 2024 (Quarter 1)' presented to the Risk & Assurance Committee on 27 November 2024.
- 2. That the Chief Executive release Attachment 2 as is practicable.

Clause 32-24 above was carried 10 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Stephen Armstrong and Councillors Karen Naylor, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin and Patrick Handcock.

#### 33-24 Wellbeing Report, 1 July to 30 September 2024 (Quarter 1)

Memorandum, presented by Connie Roos, Manager Employee Experience and Wayne Wilson, Manager People Operations.

Moved Stephen Armstrong, seconded Karen Naylor.

#### The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the memorandum titled 'Wellbeing Report, 1 July to 30 September 2024 (Quarter 1)' presented to the Risk & Assurance Committee on 27 November 2024.

Clause 33-24 above was carried 10 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Stephen Armstrong and Councillors Karen Naylor, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin and Patrick Handcock.

Councillor Vaughan Dennison left the meeting at 1.29pm.



### RISK & ASSURANCE COMMITTEE - PART I - 27 NOVEMBER 2024

#### 34-24 Business Assurance Accountability Report

Memorandum, presented by Yui-Teng Chan, Internal Auditor and Desiree Viggars, Manager Legal Risk & Assurance/Legal Counsel.

Councillor Orphée Mickalad entered the meeting at 1.35pm.

Councillor Vaughan Dennison entered the meeting again at 1.43pm.

Moved Stephen Armstrong, seconded Karen Naylor.

#### The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the memorandum titled 'Business Assurance Accountability Report' and its attachment, presented to the Risk & Assurance Committee on 27 November 2024.

Clause 34-24 above was carried 11 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

Stephen Armstrong and Councillors Karen Naylor, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin and Patrick Handcock.

# 35-24 Strategic Risk Management Reporting July to September 2024 (Quarter 1)

Memorandum, presented by Stephen Minton, Risk Management Advisor and Desiree Viggars, Manager Legal Risk & Assurance/Legal Counsel.

After discussion, Elected Members directed how they would like future risk reporting structured.

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 2.15pm.

Moved Stephen Armstrong, seconded Karen Naylor.

#### The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

- 1. That the Committee receive the following strategic risk assessments:
  - Strategic Risk 5: Ineffective Relationship and Stakeholder Engagement
  - Strategic Risk 8: Failure to Meet Legal Obligations
  - Strategic Risk 9: Significant Disruption to Council's Continuity and/or Lifeline Utility Disruption
  - Strategic Risk 10: Failure to Manage Critical/Strategic Assets
  - Strategic Risk 11: Loss of Public Trust

and the Strategic Risk Dashboard (section 8.2).



## RISK & ASSURANCE COMMITTEE - PART I - 27 NOVEMBER 2024

Moved Brent Barrett, seconded Vaughan Dennison.

2. That all future reporting and updates on Strategic Risk Assessments clearly differentiate between new actions and existing actions, connect each action with resourcing, and indicate progress and timeframe for implementation.

Clause 35-24 above was carried 12 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Stephen Armstrong and Councillors Karen Naylor, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin and Patrick Handcock.

#### 36-24 Committee Work Schedule

Moved Stephen Armstrong, seconded Karen Naylor.

#### The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Risk & Assurance Committee receive its Work Schedule dated November 2024.

Clause 36-24 above was carried 12 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

#### For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith), Stephen Armstrong and Councillors Karen Naylor, Mark Arnott, Brent Barrett, Vaughan Dennison, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin and Patrick Handcock.

#### Karakia Whakamutunga

Councillor Kaydee Zabelin closed the meeting with karakia.

The meeting finished at 2.41pm.

Confirmed 12 March 2025

Chair