PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Sustainability Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 19 February 2025, commencing at 9.01am

Members Present:	Councillors Brent Barrett (in the Chair), Kaydee Zabelin, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Debi Marshall-Lobb and Karen Naylor.
Non	Councillors Vaughan Dennison and Lew Findlay.

Members:

Apologies: The Mayor (Grant Smith) (late arrival, early departure on Council business), Councillor Roly Fitzgerald (early departure).

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 9.21am during consideration of clause 3. He was not present for clauses 1 and 2.

Karakia Timatanga

Councillor Brent Barrett opened the meeting with karakia.

1-25 Apologies

Moved Brent Barrett, seconded Kaydee Zabelin.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 1-25 above was carried 10 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

Councillors Brent Barrett, Kaydee Zabelin, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Karen Naylor, Vaughan Dennison and Lew Findlay.

2-25 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Kaydee Zabelin, seconded Patrick Handcock.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the minutes of the Sustainability Committee meeting of 4 December 2024 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 2-25 above was carried 8 votes to 0, with 2 abstentions, the voting



SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE - PART I - 19 FEBRUARY 2025

being as follows:

For:

Councillors Kaydee Zabelin, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Karen Naylor, Vaughan Dennison and Lew Findlay.

Abstained:

Councillors Brent Barrett and Debi Marshall-Lobb.

3-25 Deliberations report on Te kaupapahere mō te tūwhita me te manawaroa o te kai Food security and resilience policy

Report, presented by Julie Macdonald, Strategy and Policy Manager.

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 9.21am.

Moved Kaydee Zabelin, seconded Patrick Handcock.

The COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS

1. That the Committee recommend Council adopt Te kaupapahere mō te tūwhita me te manawaroa o te kai Food security and resilience Policy, Attachment 2 of this memorandum.

Clause 3-25 above was carried 10 votes to 0, with 1 abstention, the voting being as follows:

For:

Councillors Brent Barrett, Kaydee Zabelin, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Karen Naylor, Vaughan Dennison and Lew Findlay.

Abstained:

The Mayor (Grant Smith).

4-25 Wastewater Treatment Plant - Nature Calls: Quarterly Update

Memorandum, presented by Mike Monaghan, Manager Three Waters and Anna Lewis, Project Manager – Wastewater Discharge Consent Programme.

Officers noted an error in the Budget Table in the report (page 48). The amended table follows (figures in red are correct):

Cost Line	FY Revised Budget	Committed	Forecast	Actual
FY25 TOTAL	\$2,100,000	\$1,214,937	\$1,640,000	\$529,910
вро	1,213,857	933,880	1,170,000	302,600
Biosolids Strategy	343,143	1,899	100,000	42,354
Project Management	543,000	279,158	370,000	184,956



SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE - PART I - 19 FEBRUARY 2025

Moved Brent Barrett, seconded Kaydee Zabelin.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

 That the Committee receive the report titled 'Wastewater Treatment Plant – Nature Calls: Quarterly Update' presented to the Sustainability Committee on 19 February 2025.

Clause 4-25 above was carried 11 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Kaydee Zabelin, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Karen Naylor, Vaughan Dennison and Lew Findlay.

5-25 Committee Work Schedule

Moved Brent Barrett, seconded Kaydee Zabelin.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Sustainability Committee receive its Work Schedule dated February 2025.

Clause 5-25 above was carried 11 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Brent Barrett, Kaydee Zabelin, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Leonie Hapeta, Lorna Johnson, Debi Marshall-Lobb, Karen Naylor, Vaughan Dennison and Lew Findlay.

Karakia Whakamutunga

Councillor Brent Barrett closed the meeting with karakia.

The meeting finished at 9.46am

Confirmed 16 April 2025

Chair