PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Culture & Sport Committee Meeting Part I Public, held in the Council Chamber, First Floor, Civic Administration Building, 32 The Square, Palmerston North on 07 February 2024, commencing at 1.15pm

MembersCouncillors Rachel Bowen (in the Chair), The Mayor (Grant Smith) and
Councillors Billy Meehan, Mark Arnott, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay,
Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Debi Marshall-Lobb, William Wood
and Kaydee Zabelin.

Non Councillors Brent Barrett, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad and Karen Members: Naylor.

Apologies: Councillor Leonie Hapeta.

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 1.21pm during consideration of clause 3. He was not present for clauses 1 and 2.

Councillor Vaughan Dennison left the meeting at 2.11pm during consideration of clause 4. He was not present for clauses 4 and 5.

Karakia Timatanga

Councillor Debi Marshall-Lobb opened the meeting with karakia.

1-24 Apologies

Moved Rachel Bowen, seconded Billy Meehan.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Committee receive the apologies.

Clause 1-24 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

Councillors Rachel Bowen, Billy Meehan, Mark Arnott, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Debi Marshall-Lobb, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin, Brent Barrett, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad and Karen Naylor.

2-24 Confirmation of Minutes

Moved Rachel Bowen, seconded Billy Meehan.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the minutes of the Culture & Sport Committee meeting of 8



CULTURE & SPORT COMMITTEE - PART I - 07 FEBRUARY 2024

November 2023 Part I Public be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Clause 2-24 above was carried 13 votes to 0, with 1 abstention, the voting being as follows:

For:

Councillors Rachel Bowen, Billy Meehan, Mark Arnott, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Debi Marshall-Lobb, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin, Brent Barrett, Orphée Mickalad and Karen Naylor.

Abstained:

Councillor Lorna Johnson.

3-24 Presentation - Manawatū Youth Theatre

Presentation, by Graham Johnston and Kane Parsons, Manawatū Youth Theatre.

Graham and Kane provided an update on the purpose of Manawat \bar{u} Youth Theatre, recent productions and future plans, as attached to these minutes.

The Mayor (Grant Smith) entered the meeting at 1.21pm.

Moved Rachel Bowen, seconded Billy Meehan.

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

1. That the Culture & Sport Committee receive the presentation for information.

Clause 3-24 above was carried 15 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Rachel Bowen, Billy Meehan, Mark Arnott, Vaughan Dennison, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Debi Marshall-Lobb, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin, Brent Barrett, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad and Karen Naylor.

4-24 Te Manawa Museums Trust: Draft Statement of Intent 2024-27

Memorandum, presented by Susanna Shadbolt, Chief Executive, Catherine Parsons, Finance Manager and Caroline Tate, Chair, Te Manawa Museums Trust.

Councillor Vaughan Dennison left the meeting at 2.11pm.

Moved Rachel Bowen, seconded Billy Meehan.

The COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS

1. That Council increase Te Manawa's operational grant funding in the draft Long-Term Plan 2024-34 to be:

2024/25	2025/26	2026/27
\$3,833,599	\$4,024,056	\$4,217,826



CULTURE & SPORT COMMITTEE - PART I - 07 FEBRUARY 2024

The **COMMITTEE RESOLVED**

- 2. To receive the draft Statement of Intent 2024-27 (Attachment 1) submitted by Te Manawa Museums Trust, subject to Council agreement of Recommendation 1.
- 3. To agree that the recommended comments on the draft Statement of Intent 2024–27 outlined in Table 1 be advised to Te Manawa Museums Trust.

Clause 4-24 above was carried 11 votes to 3, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Rachel Bowen, Billy Meehan, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Debi Marshall-Lobb, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin, Brent Barrett, Lorna Johnson and Orphée Mickalad.

Against:

Councillors Mark Arnott, Lew Findlay and Karen Naylor.

5-24 Committee Work Schedule

Moved Rachel Bowen, seconded Billy Meehan.

The COMMITTEE RESOLVED

1. That the Culture & Sport Committee receive its Work Schedule dated February 2024.

Clause 5-24 above was carried 14 votes to 0, the voting being as follows:

For:

The Mayor (Grant Smith) and Councillors Rachel Bowen, Billy Meehan, Mark Arnott, Lew Findlay, Roly Fitzgerald, Patrick Handcock, Debi Marshall-Lobb, William Wood, Kaydee Zabelin, Brent Barrett, Lorna Johnson, Orphée Mickalad and Karen Naylor.

Karakia Whakamutunga

Councillor Rachel Bowen closed the meeting with karakia.

The meeting finished at 2.37pm.

Confirmed 27 March 2024



CULTURE & SPORT COMMITTEE - PART I - 07 FEBRUARY 2024